Part II: The proposed boundaries - District summary

District summary

  1. The EBC proposed to abolish 12 existing districts and create 12 new districts:
Abolished existing districts Proposed new districts
Ballarat East Ballarat
Ballarat West Buninyong
Benalla Clarinda
Clayton Croydon
Derrimut Eildon
Doncaster Keysborough
Keilor Ovens Valley
Kilsyth Ringwood
Lyndhurst St Albans
Mitcham Sunbury
Murray Valley Sydenham
Rodney Werribee
  1. Under the proposed boundaries, 1,101,703 electors – 30.19 per cent of the State’s total – were transferred to different districts.
  2. As required by the Act, enrolments for all districts were within 10 per cent of the average. Projections indicate that by mid-2018, enrolments for seven proposed districts (Gembrook, Melton, Tarneit, Thomastown, Werribee, Yan Yean and Yuroke) would be more than 10 per cent over the average, while no districts would be more than 10 per cent below the average.

Back to index

Please rate this page from 1 to 5 where 1 is unhelpful and 5 is very helpful