Part III: The final boundaries - Summary of changes

Summary of changes

  1. In summary, the EBC has made the following alterations of the proposed boundaries, apart from the minor changes mentioned above:
    • Ballarat district: Change name to Wendouree;
    • Barwon Heads: Transfer from South Barwon to Bellarine (2,811 electors affected);
    • Boolarra/Yinnar: Transfer from Gippsland South to Morwell (2,141 electors affected);
    • Carranballac: Transfer from Polwarth to Ripon (132 electors affected);
    • Clematis: Transfer from Monbulk to Gembrook (394 electors affected);
    • Cowwarr/Winnindoo: Transfer from Gippsland South to Morwell (512 electors affected);
    • Dookie: Transfer from Ovens Valley to Shepparton (389 electors affected);
    • Highton: Transfer from Geelong to South Barwon (5,755 electors affected);
    • Hurstbridge: Transfer eastern part from Eildon to Yan Yean (181 electors affected);
    • Inverloch: Transfer from Gippsland South to Bass (3,572 electors affected);
    • Kiewa Valley: Transfer from Ovens Valley to Benambra (2,342 electors affected);
    • Moe: Transfer from Morwell to Narracan (6,756 electors affected);
    • Mulgrave: Transfer part east of Eastlink from Dandenong to Mulgrave (365 electors affected);
    • Nyora/Loch: Transfer from Bass to Gippsland South (1,230 electors affected);
    • Scoresby district: Change name to Rowville;
    • Seymour district: Change name to Euroa;
    • Snake Valley: Transfer from Buninyong to Ripon (651 electors affected);
    • Strathlea/Sandon: Transfer from Ripon to Bendigo West (128 electors affected);
    • Swan Hill district: Change name to Murray Plains;
    • The Basin: Transfer eastern part from Monbulk to Bayswater (1,510 electors affected);
    • Thoona/Goorambat/Devenish: Transfer from Ovens Valley to Euroa (892 electors affected);
    • Toorak: Transfer area west of Grange Road from Malvern to Prahran (2,623 electors affected);
    • Whittington/St Albans Park: Transfer from Bellarine to Geelong (6,468 electors affected);
    • Yallourn North/Tyers/Glengarry/Toongabbie: Transfer from Narracan to Morwell (3,454 electors affected);
    • Yandoit/Shepherds Flat: Transfer from Ripon to Macedon (349 electors affected).
  2. The alterations from the proposed boundaries have transferred 42,744 electors (1.17 per cent of the total) from one district to another, not counting those affected by changes to district names.
  3. Comparing the existing boundaries with the final new boundaries, the EBC has transferred a total of 1,068,389 electors (29.27 per cent of all Victorian electors) to different electoral districts. In comparison, 392,844 (10.76 per cent of all electors) are now in different electoral regions.
  4. The following 15 existing electoral districts have been abolished and 15 new districts established:

    Abolished existing districts New districts

    Ballarat East


    Ballarat West











    Murray Plains


    Ovens Valley





    Murray Valley

    St Albans







    Swan Hill


  5. As required by the Act, enrolments for all districts and regions are within 10 per cent of the average. Projections indicate that by mid-2018, enrolments for eight districts (Bass, Gembrook, Melton, Tarneit, Thomastown, Werribee, Yan Yean and Yuroke) will be more than 10 per cent over the average, while no districts will be more than 10 per cent below the average. All regions are expected to remain within the 10 per cent allowable deviation.

Back to index

Please rate this page from 1 to 5 where 1 is unhelpful and 5 is very helpful